Wupperthal
Production
Products
Team
Order
Contact

Wupperthal was founded in 1830 by the Rev. Johann Gottlieb Leipoldt of the Rhenish Missionary Society. He purchased the farm “Rietmond” on behalf of the church and named it Wupperthal because it reminded him of the valley of the Wupper River. In the 1960’s Wupperthal was a Rhenish mission station and after that was ceded to the Moravian church.

Travelling to Wupperthal is not for the faint hearted. From Clanwilliam one travels across the Pakhuis Pass, descending into the breathtaking Biedouw valley. The not-too-easy road takes the traveler through the Cedarberg and down to the lovely green oasis of Wupperthal. The original church and school, built in 1834 and 1842 respectively are still being used. The town is tranquil and the buildings mostly unspoilt due to the remoteness of the area.